*The Downey Profile  
    *Sample Derby Subscription Page  
    *Looking Good 2020  
    *Worth Watching 2020  
    *Derby Future Wager  
    *Derby Road / Points  
    *Race Video  
    *Triple Crown Nominations  
    *Dick's Picks History  
    *The Commish History  
    *Miscellaneous Derby  
    *Racing News / Search  
    *Belmont 152 Recap  
    *Belmont Stakes Horses  
    *Derby 145 Recap  
    *Preakness 144 Recap  
    *Kentucky Derby Horses  
    *Preakness Stakes Horses  
    *Privacy Policy/Cookie Policy/Terms of Service - Updated 5/25/18  
    *Forward to A Friend  

Kentucky Derby and Horse Racing at The Downey Profile®

Far Right Stays Left, Wins Smarty Jones


By Dick Downey

Far Right saved ground and got up late to win the Smarty Jones Stakes and 10 Kentucky Derby points Monday at Oaklawn Park.

Under Mike Smith, Far Right ran straight through the stretch while Mr. Z, who led in the stretch, took a hard right under Jon Court, perhaps costing him the win. Bayerd also got by Mr. Z to finish second. Far Right won by 1 3/4 length as the second choice in the betting. Mr. Z was the even-money favorite. At 5-2, Far Right paid $7.40, $4.00, and $2.60. The race was timed in 1:38.43.

Private Prospect finished fourth, followed by American Sailor, Hebbronville, Paid Admission, Lucky Player, and Runaway Bling. The second, third and fourth finishers earned 4, 2 and 1 Derby points respectively.

With 12 total Kentucky Derby points, Far Right is seventh on the Derby leaderboard.

The pace was set in :46.92 by American Sailor. Mr. Z pressed him. Meanwhile, Far Right was eigth in the field of nine. Leaving the far turn, Mr. Z took command and led by 2 1/2 lengths with a furlong left in the race. He lost ground with his erratic run, and Far Right blew by him in the latter stage of the race.

"There was some room down on the rail. I really won with something left," Smith said.


© 2003-2020 Dick Downey dba The Downey Profile

The Downey Profile® was awarded a Service Mark by the United States Patent and Trademark Office in 2008. Renewed 2018.