*The Downey Profile  
    *Kentucky Derby Horses  
    *Preakness Stakes Horses  
    *Belmont Stakes Horses  
    *Daily Belmont Update  
    *Race Video  
    *Looking Good  
    *Worth Watching  
    *Just In Case  
    *Dick's Picks History  
    *The Commish History  
    *Derby Future Wager  
    *Derby Road / Points  
    *Triple Crown Nominations  
    *Racing News / Search  
    *Miscellaneous Derby  
    *Derby 145 Recap  
    *Preakness 144 Recap  
    *Belmont 151 Recap  
    *Forward to A Friend  
    *Privacy Policy/Cookie Policy/Terms of Service - Updated 5/25/18  

Kentucky Derby and Horse Racing at The Downey Profile®

More Preakness Stats


Exaggerator, Trainer, Jockey Set New Marks

By Dick Downey

As reported in our recap story last night, Exaggerator became the first horse to win the Preakness after finishing second in the Kentucky Derby since Prairie Bayou in 1993.

Other horses that did the same are Summer Squall in 1990 following a 30-year drought after Bally Ache in 1960; Fabius (1956), Nashua (1955), Hasty Road (1954), Native Dancer (1953), Hill Prince (1950), Capot (1949), Alsab (1942), Bimelech (1940), Challedon (1939), Dauber (1938) and Head Play (1933).

Exaggerator is the 12th Preakness winner to start from post 5 since 1909. He's the third in the last 41 runnings, following the footsteps of  Elocutionist (1976) and Shackleford (2011).

Curlin joins nine other Preakness winners to sire a Preakness winner. Other winners to sire a winner are Bold Ruler (Secretariat), Bold Venture (Assault), Gallant Fox (Omaha), Man o’War (War Admiral), Polynesian (Native Dancer), Citation (Fabius), Native Dancer (Kauai King), Secretariat (Risen Star) and Summer Squall (Charismatic).

Kent Desormeaux is the sixth jockey to win three or more runnings of the Preakness. He was aboard Real Quiet, Big Brown and Exaggerator. Eddie Arcaro has won the most with six, followed by Pat Day (five), Victor Espinoza (three), Bill Hartack (three) and Gary Stevens (three).

Exaggerator will attempt to become the 19th horse to win the Preakness and Belmont Stakes after failing to win the Kentucky Derby. The last to do so was Afleet Alex in 2005.

For those interested in the tiniest of minutae, Exaggerator is the 33rd horse to run in the Preakness whose name begins with the letter E and the third to win. The others are Effendi (1909) and Elocutionist (1976).

Keith Desourmeaux is the 47th trainer to win the Preakness with his first starter. The last was Art Sherman with California Chrome in 2014.

And, as we reported last night, Keith and Kent Desormeaux are the first brother trainer-jockey combination to win the Preakness.


© 2003-2019 Dick Downey dba The Downey Profile

The Downey Profile® was awarded a Service Mark by the United States Patent and Trademark Office in 2008. Renewed 2018.