*The Downey Profile  
    *Sample Derby Subscription Page  
    *Looking Good 2020  
    *Worth Watching 2020  
    *Derby Future Wager  
    *Derby Road / Points  
    *Race Video  
    *Triple Crown Nominations  
    *Dick's Picks History  
    *The Commish History  
    *Miscellaneous Derby  
    *Racing News / Search  
    *Derby 145 Recap  
    *Preakness 144 Recap  
    *Belmont 151 Recap  
    *Kentucky Derby Horses  
    *Belmont Stakes Horses  
    *Preakness Stakes Horses  
    *Privacy Policy/Cookie Policy/Terms of Service - Updated 5/25/18  
    *Forward to A Friend  

Kentucky Derby and Horse Racing at The Downey Profile®

Wood Memorial Has 28 Nominations


There are 28 nominations to the Wood Memorial and the names include El Areeb, Irish War Cry, Mo Town, One Liner and a total of 11 from Todd Pletcher's stable.

Chad Brown nominated lightly-raced Gotham Stakes runner-up Cloud Computing.

Connections of three of the nominees have been trying to regroup: El Areeb, third as the favorite in the Gotham; Mo Town, fifth as the favorite in his seasonal bow in the Risen Star Stakes; and Irish War Cry, seventh as the favorite in the Fountain of Youth Stakes.


Nominations PPs

Fox Sports 2 will broadcast the first edition of "Aqueduct Live" on Wood Memorial Day from 3:00-5:30 p.m. ET, covering the Wood Memorial undercard, including the Carter Handicap.

NBC Sports Network will provide live coverage of the Wood Memorial in a two-hour broadcast from 5:30-7:30, along with the Toyota Blue Grass at Keeneland and the Santa Anita Derby. Post time for the Wood Memorial is scheduled for 5:50.

Also on tap for Wood Memorial Day are the spring meet's official Kentucky Oaks qualifier, the Gazelle, as well as the seven-furlong Bay Shore and the Excelsior for 4-year-olds and up.

Post positions for Wood Memorial Day stakes will be drawn Wednesday, April 5.

Edited NYRA release

© 2003-2020 Dick Downey dba The Downey Profile

The Downey Profile® was awarded a Service Mark by the United States Patent and Trademark Office in 2008. Renewed 2018.