*The Downey Profile  
    *Sample Derby Subscription Page  
    *Looking Good 2020  
    *Worth Watching 2020  
    *Derby Future Wager  
    *Derby Road / Points  
    *Race Video  
    *Triple Crown Nominations  
    *Dick's Picks History  
    *The Commish History  
    *Miscellaneous Derby  
    *Racing News / Search  
    *Belmont 152 Recap  
    *Belmont Stakes Horses  
    *Derby 145 Recap  
    *Preakness 144 Recap  
    *Kentucky Derby Horses  
    *Preakness Stakes Horses  
    *Privacy Policy/Cookie Policy/Terms of Service - Updated 5/25/18  
    *Forward to A Friend  

Kentucky Derby and Horse Racing at The Downey Profile®

Top Three from LeComte Returning in Risen Star


Instilled Regard Shipping Back from California

By Dick Downey

Updated 3:01 CT

The top three finishers in the LeComte Stakes, plus one also-ran, return in a field of 10 for the Risen Star Stakes on Saturday.

Instilled Regard, trained by Jerry Hollendorfer, will be shipped back to New Orleans from Southern California to defend his win of the LeComte. Finishing behind him in that race were Principe Guilherme and Snapper Sinclair. Ebben, sixth in the LeCompte, also returns. Of the four, only Ebben is not nominated to the Triple Crown.

Instilled Regard was the 2-1 second choice in the LeComte; Principe Guilherme was the 6-5 favorite. Snapper Sinclair, an experiment on dirt, was 28-1, and Ebben left the gate at 56-1.

Joining those four are six allowance and maiden special weight winners, three of whom have experience over the track and three that will be running at Fair Grounds for the first time.

High North, trained by Brad Cox, broke his maiden at Keeneland in October and was last seen finishing fourth, beaten five lengths, in the Kentucky Jockey Club at Churchill Downs late November. Cox may decide to run High North in Monday's Southwest Stakes at Oaklawn, but the son of Midnight Lute has been working at Fair Grounds. Cory Lanerie is named to ride.

Todd Pletcher‘s Noble Indy broke his maiden and won a two-turn allowance optional claiming race in two career starts, both at Gulfstream Park. In the latter race, he was ridden by John Velasquez, who is scheduled to return on Saturday.

Givemeaminit competed in three two-turn graded stakes races last year, losing by a combined 29 3/4 lenths, and by the end of 2017 he was still a maiden. On Jan. 28, he won by eight lengths against Louisiana-breds  at Fair Grounds for trainer Dallas Stewart. Sean Bridgmohan has the mount.

Supreme Aura will make his two-turn and stakes debut you for trainer Michael Stidham. After breaking his maiden in his debut at Delaware Park last August, he was off for several months and came back to win a Fair Grounds allowance optional claiming sprint by 3 1/2 lengths on Jan. 5. Joe Bravo will be aboard.

Bravazo is trained by D. Wayne LuKas. Under Gary Stevens, he won a two-turn allowance optional claiming race at Oaklawn Park on Jan. 13, rebounding from a 12-length loss in the Kentucky Jockey Club. Stevens was named to ride again on Saturday but is being replaced by the track's current lead jockey Miguel Mena.

Kentucky Club is also trained by Lukas and broke his maiden in his his sixth start, a $30,000 claiming race at Oaklawn on Jan/ 27. Like Bravazo, he was bred and is owned by Calumet Farm. James Graham is named to ride. Like Ebben, Kentucky Club is not nominated to the Triple Crown.

Entries in post position order:
1. High North, Corey Lanerie, Brad Cox, 15-1
2. Noble Indy, John Velazquez, Todd Pletcher, 5-1
3. Givemeaminit, Shaun Bridgmohan, Dallas Stewart, 15-1
4. Snapper Sinclair, Adam Beschizza, Steve Asmussen, 8-1
5. Instilled Regard, Javier Castellano, Jerry Hollendorfer, 8-5
6. Supreme Aura, Joe Bravo, Michael Stidham, 8-1
7. Bravazo, Gary Stevens, Miguel Mena, D. Wayne Lukas, 8-1
8. Kentucky Club, James Graham, D. Wayne Lukas, 30-1
9. Principe Guilherme, Florent Geroux, Steve Asmussen, 7-2
10. Ebben, Gabriel Saez, Steve Margolis, 30-1


© 2003-2020 Dick Downey dba The Downey Profile

The Downey Profile® was awarded a Service Mark by the United States Patent and Trademark Office in 2008. Renewed 2018.